Rice Krispies

Battle Creek ends up as the butt of a lot of jokes, but it does have some perks worth talking about. Arcadia Brewery for example, which has some of the best bar food I’ve ever encountered. And Continental Bakery, a German bakery, which happens to be the only place I know of in the Midwest where I can get a thuringer sandwich on rye. It’s a Swedish thing (at least in my family), and if you love summer sausage, then this sandwich is for you.

But my favorite part of Battle Creek is the smell. Yes. The smell.

It’s the smell of baking cereal. It’s a bit like fresh bread, but less yeast, and more sweet. It’s incredible.

I don’t know if it’s just because it’s winter, but the smell reminds me of being curled up in front of a fire, tucked under a blanket, while it’s snowing like crazy, just soaking up a lazy winter day, with something homemade baking in the oven.

I never noticed the smell before I started working downtown, so maybe the wind just blows the right way through our parking lot. Whatever it is, I love it.

And what great marketing for Kellogg’s – all I could think of yesterday was a bowl of Rice Krispies. I mean, honestly, who eats Rice Krispies, unless it’s in treat form? They get so soggy so fast, but, dang. I need a bowl.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Bueller . . . Bueller . . . ?

